Washington State Permit to Purchase

Quick Tips & How To Guides
September 10, 2026
Dark background with a handgun and a judge's gavel

Effective May 1, 2027

What is the Permit to Purchase?

Starting May 1, 2027, you will be required to obtain a permit to purchase or transfer a firearm in Washington State under RCW 9.41.121. The Permit to Purchase application will require a fingerprint-based background check and completion of a Washington State Patrol certified firearms training safety course, unless the individual is exempt from the training requirement.

Is a separate Permit to Purchase required for each firearm transfer?

No, a Permit to Purchase is valid for 5 years and an unlimited number of firearms.

Where will I get the Permit to Purchase?

Once the system is ready, you will be able apply for a Permit to Purchase via GetaPermitWA.org or mobile application. The Permit to Purchase application portal is currently in development. After submitting your application, you will also have to visit your local law enforcement agency to be fingerprinted.

Where are citizens expected to obtain fingerprints, and at what cost?

RCW 9.41.121(2)(b) requires applicants to submit a complete set of fingerprints taken by the local law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where the applicant resides.

Fees charged for fingerprint collection are established by the agency providing that service and may vary. WSP does not establish or control those fees (RCW 9.41.071).

How much will the Permit to Purchase cost?

An initial Permit to Purchase application will cost $126. The law enforcement agency that takes the fingerprints may also charge an additional fee.

Renewal of a Permit to Purchase will be $90.00 if renewed prior to expiration. Renewals submitted up to 90 days after expiration will incur an additional $25 late fee.

What format is the permit card to be issued in? 

The permit is planned to be available in a digital format through a mobile application (iOS and Android). Applicants will also have the option to print a paper copy. Washington State Permit to Purchase Effective May 1, 2027.


How do I get a Permit to Purchase?

Step 1: Complete your online application via GetaPermitWA.org or mobile app (coming soon) and pay a fee ($126).

Step 2: Get fingerprinted at your local Police Department or Sheriff’s Office.

Step 3: Complete WSP certified firearm safety training with live fire exercises from a local provider. Step 4: Receive your permit via the online Permit to Purchase portal or on the mobile app.


Where do I go to complete my training?

The Washington State Patrol Firearms Background Division will provide a list of training providers with certified curriculums on GetapermitWA.org, including the levels of training they provide.

What are the different levels of firearms safety training?

  • Level 1: This meets the requirements under RCW 9.41.1132 and includes 50 rounds of live fire. Level 1 will meet the requirements for both Concealed Pistol Licenses and Permits to Purchase.
  • Level 2: Meets the requirements of RCW 9.41.1132 and includes more than 1 and less than 50 rounds of live fire. Level 2 will meet the requirements for the Permit to Purchase only.
  • Level 3: Meets the requirements of RCW 9.41.1132 but does not include live fire training.

*Level 3 will meet the requirements for the Permit to Purchase renewals only when live fire training has been completed within the past ten years.

Is anyone exempt from the certified safety training requirement?

Those exempt from the safety training after providing proper identification include:

  • A general authority, limited authority, or specially commissioned Washington peace officer who carries a firearm as part of their normal duties
  • Tribal police officers
  • A federal peace officer who carries a firearm as part of their normal duties
  • An active-duty member of the armed forces, National Guard or reserves
  • Qualifying armed security guards licensed pursuant to RCW 18.170
  • Qualifying armed private investigators licensed pursuant to RCW 18.165

Will the Concealed Pistol License (CPL) safety training requirement only be for new licenses issued after May 1st, 2027?

No. Starting May 1st, 2027, the completion of a Washington State Patrol certified firearms safety training program will be required for both new applications and renewals of existing Concealed Pistol Licenses.

Will training I’ve already taken be accepted for a CPL or a Permit to Purchase?

No. Starting May 1st, 2027, the training must be certified by WSP to be accepted for CPLs or Permits to Purchase.

Share: